Dec 15, 2018  
2018-2019 University Catalog 
    
2018-2019 University Catalog

Physical Therapy


Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Samson College of Health Sciences

Mission

The mission of the Department of Physical Therapy is to educate doctor of physical therapy students to practice autonomously within an evolving, complex, and diverse healthcare environment.

Vision

The vision of the Department of Physical Therapy is that graduates of the doctor of physical therapy program become healthcare professionals distinguished by leadership, innovation, and excellence in a dynamic and diverse global society.

Goals

  • Professional Practice: Graduates will use the best evidence to demonstrate reflective clinical decision making and skill performance in all aspects of patient/client management to achieve optimal outcomes.
  • Practice Management: Graduates will be able to practice autonomously within an evolving, complex, and diverse healthcare environment.
  • Leadership: Graduates will be engaged in leadership activities tailored to meet their own goals for professional development.

Faculty

Lora Packel
BA (University of Delaware); MSPT (Boston University); PhD (Walden University)
ABPTS Board-Certified Specialist in Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Physical Therapy
Chair, Department of Physical Therapy 
Associate Professor of Physical Therapy
Phone: 215.596.8678
E-mail: l.packel@usciences.edu

Kevin Cody
Professor Emeritus

Michelle E. Cohen
BA (Beaver College); MEd, PhD (Temple University)
Professor of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy
Dean, Samson College of Health Sciences
Phone: 215.596.8540
E-mail: m.cohen@usciences.edu

Eric Folkins
BS (University of Minnesota); MPT (University of Southern California); DPT (Western University of Health Sciences)
Assistant Professor of Physical Therapy
Director, Clinical Education of Physical Therapy 
Phone: 215.596.7086
E-mail: e.folkins@usciences.edu

Anne K. Galgon
BA (University of Pennsylvania); MPT, PhD (Drexel University) 
Associate Professor of Physical Therapy   
Phone: 215.596.7341
E-mail: a.galgon@usciences.edu

Barbara Kellar
BA (LeMoyne College); MSPT (Arcadia University); PhD (Temple University) 
Assistant Professor of Physical Therapy    
E-mail: b.kellar@usciences.edu

Michael W. Knapp
BA, DPT (Temple University) 
Assistant Professor of Physical Therapy   
Phone: 215.596.7237
E-mail: m.knapp@usciences.edu

Melissa Lesser
BS (West Virgina University); DPT (Drexel University)
Assistant Professor of Physical Therapy   
Phone: 215.596.7282
E-mail: m.lesser@usciences.edu

Shelly Lewis
BS, MPT (University of Evansville); DPT (Arcadia University)
Director, Clinical Education of Physical Therapy 
Assistant Professor of Physical Therapy
Phone: 215.596.7088
E-mail: m.lewis@usciences.edu

David S. Logerstedt
BS (University of Montana); MA (University of North Carolina); MPT (Eastern Carolina University); DPT (University of Delaware)
ABPTS Board-Certified Sports Clinical Specialist
Assistant Professor of Physical Therapy
Phone: 215.596.7303
E-mail: d.logerstedt@usciences.edu

Carol A. Maritz
BA (Glassboro State College); Certificate in PT (Hahnemann University); MS (St. Joseph’s University); EdD (Nova Southwestern University)
ABPTS Board-Certified Specialist in Geriatrics
Associate Dean, Samson College of Health Sciences 
Associate Professor of Physical Therapy
Phone: 215.596.8683
E-mail: c.maritz@usciences.edu

Eric S. Pelletier
BS (Boston University); MSPT (Boston University); DPT (Temple University)
ABPTS Board-Certified Specialist in Pediatrics
Assistant Professor of Physical Therapy
Phone: 215.596.8724
E-mail: e.pelletier@usciences.edu

Margaret (Margie) Roos
BS (Quinnipiac University); MS (University of the Sciences); DPT (Drexel University); PhD (University of Delaware)
ABPTS Board Certified Clinical Specialist in Neurologic Physical Therapy
Associate Professor of Physical Therapy
Phone: 215.596.8676
E-mail: m.roos@usciences.edu 

Britta K. Schasberger
BA (University of Pennsylvania); MS (Widener University); EdD (Arcadia University)
Assistant Professor of Physical Therapy   
Phone: 215.895.3121
E-mail: b.schasberger@usciences.edu

Gregory Thielman
BS, MSPT (Springfield College); EdD, ATC (Columbia University Teachers College)
Professor of Physical Therapy
Director Patricia Leahy Research Laboratory
Phone: 215.596.8680
E-mail: g.thielm@usciences.edu

Shaun N. Varrecchia
BS (Rutgers University); DPT (Temple University)
ABPTS Board-Certified Specialist in Geriatric Physical Therapy
Assistant Director, Clinical Education of Physical Therapy 
Assistant Professor of Physical Therapy
Phone: 267.295.3186
E-mail: s.varrecchia@usciences.edu

 

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Samson College of Health Sciences